About the Download

Francesco Canova da Milano (1497 – 1543) was a famous Italian Lutenist-composer. Many accounts record Francesco’s “sublime” skill in lute playing and he was known as “il divino”.

This Fantasia exists as a solo work and also as a lute duet. The 2nd lute part ws composed by Joannes Matelart (before 1538 – 1607)

There are 5 versions presented in this collection:
1. guitar or lute solo
2. guitar or lute duet part
3. guitar or lute – both part I and II together
4. lute part 2 for piano
5. guitar or lute and piano duet

Here is a performance by the Costa/Thompson Contemporary Guitar Duo

Add to wish list


You must log in to submit a review.